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Email Marketing: How Can Increase Sales?

Email Marketing
Email Marketing

You may think that the time for Email marketing is over or is taking its last breath. but in fact, many stores and startups are showing renewed interest in Email marketing as an effective means of marketing. reaching out to as many visitors as possible, and even turning them into potential customers who contribute to their sales. 


So you have to ask yourself, do you use email marketing to improve your store situation? If you don't, you miss out on a great opportunity to grow your store sales and turn visitors into potential buyers.

What is email marketing?


Email marketing is one of the most effective and efficient marketing strategies. sending promotional messages that may contain offers, tips, or news for your mailing list, a list of data. and email addresses belonging to people who have registered in your mailing post.

For e-commerce, Email marketing is used to increase sales and grow potential buyers from the store. by sending offers to store visitors or others who have left their shopping cart neglected for some time. or even indirectly by sending newsletters containing the latest offers from your store along with some useful tips for visitors.

Recently, email marketing has gone from sending random messages to the entire mailing list to sending personalized and targeted messages to each particular person, making those messages more effective. 

Perhaps the biggest feature of Email is that it is a fully controlled promotional tool by the sender. where it can control and change the content of the message however and whenever it wants. and this appears in the best possible way when sending personalized promotional messages.

How is email marketing key to your store's success?


Most visitors to your store — even visitors carefully targeted by your advertising campaigns — may not return to your store. unless you do what attracts them to come back. Building mailing lists, sending promotional messages and offers helps you keep visitors who have worked so hard to attract them to your online store. 

You should know that Email marketing is not only built around developing the right marketing strategies. but also about choosing the right time to implement those strategies.

For example, if you send appropriate promotional messages based on correct strategies but at an inappropriate time. this may not only cost you the loss of some potential customers and buyers. but you are directing them towards competitors.

 But if you choose the right time to send those messages. you get a permanent customer loyal to your store. But how is Email marketing key to your store's success?

Email marketing helps you build a long-term relationship with customers

If you're looking for more visitors to your online store, you're probably going to a social media marketing or improve search engines (SEO). But if your purpose is to build, strengthen, or strengthen a long-term relationship with visitors. and turn them into permanent customers, Email marketing is the best way to do that.

Email marketing plays a vital role in encouraging customers to make a second or subsequent purchase. helping to grow customer retention. thereby reducing the cost of getting new customers.

Emails help you provide personal care and care to customers if you use the right tools to do so. It may also help you find new visitors and customers to your store as well as keep former customers in touch. 

To do this, you'll only need to develop the right strategies. but after you put those strategies in place and before you press the send button you'll need to ask yourself the following questions:

  • Will this message benefit your long-term goals? Or will it only benefit short-term goals?
  • What's the measure of success for you? Is the response to these messages a measure or not?
  • Does the content of the message provide real value to the potential customer to whom the message is sent?
  • How attractive is the content of the message to the person to which it is sent? Or are you sending the same message to everyone?

Emails are more effective for increasing sales

Years have seen the emergence of many new marketing methods that leave the e-marketer confused in choosing the perfect mix of marketing strategies that bring the greatest benefit and return for his brand? 

But even with the advent of all these marketing channels, Email marketing continues to rank among the best of those marketing channels.

Email marketing has had the best return on investment for 10 consecutive years. and statistics say every dollar it spends on Email marketing campaigns earns $38. Despite the huge proliferation of social networks in recent years. 

Email marketing brings new visitors and customers 40 times better than social networks such as Facebook and Twitter.

How do Email marketing campaigns start optimally?

To start implementing email marketing strategies. you must first choose your email service provider. plan for new customers, and then understand how to send emails optimally.

1. Choose the best email service, provider

An email service provider is where you have an incoming message box. a message box, and spam. and if you want to start email marketing campaigns. your choice of the best and most convenient service provider makes it easy for you to take the next steps.

At the beginning of the email in October 1969. The email offered only two options: check the incoming message box and send messages. but now there are millions of options you have to choose from. and this is a list of the best Email service providers at the moment:

  • Google Google.
  • Proton EMail.
  • HubSpot.
  • Yahoo!.
  • Microsoft Outlook.
  • iCloud Mail.

Make sure your service provider is safe

People care a lot about information security these days, and of course. everyone is looking for safer and more private services to keep their data from theft or bad use. 

According to Hotspot, more than 150 billion emails are sent daily. each with an average of 15 files attached per day. and 53% of users say they lose files with sensitive information during the Email process.

This means that your sensitive information may be available to anyone. so you must place security within the criteria for choosing the best email service provider.

2. Build a mailing list

If you ask a founder or online store manager for marketing effective advice. most of them will tell you to start building a mailing list from the first day of your store and learn from this advice to start assembling mailers in your store as soon as possible.

You create mailing lists by compiling your visitors' email addresses. and you generally store those mailing lists in your email service provider. and one of the key things you should know before compiling your mailing list is that you need legal permission to send your emails and promotions to your potential customers. 

so you don't get into email marketing errors ( to get highly unsubscribe).

To get that permission, your visitors should "subscribe" to your newsletter service of their own volition. and there are many ways to encourage them to do so. Visitors choose to subscribe to postage services for several reasons, such as:

  • Get to know your store and its products and services.
  • Get the best deals periodically.
  • Keep them informed of the latest products you're constantly displaying in your store.
  • Get discount codes and special offers.

3. Do not break the rules during your marketing campaigns

Email marketing is an example of so-called authorized marketing. a term coined by American marketer and author Seth Godin. 

It means that visitors must choose to subscribe to your mailing list of their own volition. and the relationship between your brand and customers must be based on this permission.

This is based not only on the marketing aspect and the image it reflects about your brand but also on the legal point. Many countries have developed laws and rules to control Email marketing. and if they violate those laws. they may be subject to legal accountability, claim huge damages and sometimes go further. such as:

1. CAN-SPAM Law: This is an abbreviation for Controlling the Assault of Non-Solicited Pornography and Marketing Act of 2003. The law gives those affected by spam the right to sue for the rights outlined in the law. allows the federal government to take action against it, and fines can be as much as $250 per Email.

2. GDPR: Known as the General Data Protection Regulation. it protects the data of people within EU countries. and also criminalizes sending promotional emails without permission.

3. CASL: Short for Canadian Anti-Spam Legislation. it helps protect the data of Canadian citizens while emphasizing competitiveness between companies and business affairs.

The types of email marketing messages you'll send to your mailing list.


From the outset, it's important to plan for a variety of emails you send to your mailing list subscribers. and there are three main e-commerce Email rankings:

  • Abandoned shopping cart.
  • Promotions and messages.
  • Blog and information content.

1. Abandoned shopping cart.

Reports indicate that nearly 70% of e-store shopping baskets are abandoned by buyers and do not make the purchase. and there are many reasons why the buyer abandons the shopping cart after choosing products and is determined to buy. 

perhaps the biggest reason for this is competitive prices in other stores. lack of confidence in your store, or uncertainty about whether they need these products.

This type of message is sent for the follow-up to those people who have abandoned their shopping carts after reaching the final step. These messages are intended to remind them of these abandoned vehicles and to direct them back to them. as well as to motivate them to complete the purchase. 

So be sure to attach photos of abandoned products to those carts. along with links that make it easier for customers to head to their shopping cart with a single click.

2. Promotions and messages

This type of email is sent to all subscribers of your mailing list. or sometimes to a particular segment of your mailing list. These messages can contain information about new products. such as discount codes and offers that apply if they go directly from those messages for purchase. seasonal offers, or product updates and news.

Consider sending promotional messages when you have something or important news that you want to tell your customers. so think carefully about your goals behind these messages. choose the right slide to receive the message. and calculate the store's profit margin well before sending discounts and offers. so you can make sure you can afford these discounts without losing.

To achieve the best results from promotional messages try to customize messages as much as possible to suit the quality of the products you offer. and to suit the segment of customers to whom these messages are sent. It's also in line with your goals from your marketing campaign.

3. Blog and useful content

If you're using content marketing strategies and seeking to post informative content on your blog to educate and enrich visitors and customers with useful content. and also seek to appear in the first results of search results pages in different search engines. 

you already attract those looking for this informative content. so you should keep this in mind when choosing the content of the emails you will send to your mailing list subscribers.

Blog content helps the online store gain customer confidence. whether you're sending articles from the blog. newsletters, or even sending free downloadable content such as free brochures. reminds your customers that you're not only here to sell them products. 

but you help them with your overall purchase and send them useful and free content whether they decide to buy from your store or not.

To gain the trust of new subscribers in your mailing list. you can send an automation personalized welcome message to each of them individually. and welcome messages are usually used to provide a quick overview of your store and what you offer to those who have decided to subscribe to your mailing list.

Factors that increase the effectiveness of Email marketing


Today's customers are surrounded by information and promotional messages from all directions. and what Email marketers are looking for is to get the attention of list subscribers to read what is written in the messages. and the opening rate of messages can be increased in several ways, including:

1. Customization and diagnosis

If your store displays a different range of products. you need to customize your mailing list. and customization means more than one mailing list based on the interests of each customer category. If you're selling clothes. 

you might prefer to make a list of men and women and children. and if you're selling books, you'd better show the subscriber a statement from which to discern the topics he cares about, and put him on a mailing list of his interests (novels, self-development, sales, ... Etc.).

With each list, you'll send an automated different series of emails. attracting the customer to make a smooth and intelligent purchase decision. 

Customizing will save you a lot of effort and money in email marketing. Also, don't forget to start the message with his first name to give him more customization in the appeal.

Messages with personal content are 26% more open and read than public duplicate messages and marketers have found that the return on personalized messages is 760% higher than before. 

For example, you can start your message with " Dear jean" instead of "Dear Reader" and thus get more attention from the reader.

2. Coordination

Keep your message design simple and not exaggerated. it's best to have more text than images (80% text and 20% photos). see below for an example of the best message design. and note how you coordinate the message so that it's simple and clear-sighted.

Email Marketing
Email Marketing



Choose the right address

You should choose the right address that attracts the user to open your message and choose it from the dozens of promotional messages you receive daily. 

but don't exaggerate and choose unrealistic or unreal addresses so that you don't lose your credibility and the customer avoids your messages later.

Abbreviation and focus

You don't know if the target user has enough time to read your message. so you should shorten and focus your message on exactly what you want to deliver. don't flatter and go beyond lengthening messages.

Choose the location of the link

Because you don't guarantee whether the user will complete reading the message. you should place the link in the middle of the message to avoid not seeing it by the customer. You can also use Call To Action buttons to increase the ctr or click rates for your campaign emails.

3. Past experiences and the language of emotions

Martin Lindström's studies and presentation in Buy-ology have shown that man does not buy with his conscious mind. does not buy logically in the first place. but is driven by emotions and feelings. 

The year is full of many occasions where you can connect with the customer and create some kind of emotional bonding with him. so that you can arouse his nostalgia and buy your product.

If you sell products to children, you can broadcast the feelings of interest and care to parents so that you can convince them of your product. and if you are selling a mobile phone. 

you will feel the happiness that a phone user will feel when they buy it. If you're selling a book. talk about the opinions of the customers in this book and what value it has added to them. 

If you sell home products. don't forget to talk about the sense of comfort and effort that such devices give. the language of emotions always works.

Dominic Gettins says in his brilliant book How To Write Great Copy that one of the most telling means of selling speech is to provoke his envy in owning what others have. 

So try sending Emails about the experience of former clients and more accurately describe feelings and feelings.

Email marketing campaign: Measures to assess the performance


Email marketing needs to do a lot of effort and time to become an expert. including training, strategy and plans, and marketing campaigns, and the more you try and train. you learn better, yet training alone is not enough and does not guarantee success every time. but you have to understand and know the measures of evaluating this success.

Each email marketing campaign is different, especially if your goals for these different campaigns vary. whether attracting new visitors, turning visitors into potential customers, and increasing sales. 

But there are some basic metrics and factors that qualify you to assess the success of these marketing campaigns and tell you what you lack, including:

1. Opening rate of Emails

The open rates of mailings or what is known as Open Rates are the simplest indicator among KPIs to evaluate and understand how your mailing list subscribers receive the messages you sent them. 

It helps you figure out how many opened those messages, and the message opening rates provide you with some simple tips to use.

For example, statistics indicate that messages with subscribers' first names are 26% more likely to open than those without the first name. Most Email marketing campaigns get message opening rates of less than 24%. and if you manage to reach a higher rate, know that you are on the right track.

2. Conversion rate

The conversion rate or conversion rate is the percentage of mailers who have taken the action they are invited to. For example, if your message contains offers and discounts for a new product and you place the product link in that message. the conversion rate is a percentage of those who clicked on this link compared to all those who received the email.

You can calculate the conversion rate by making a simple equation: (the number of people who took the procedure ÷ the number of people who received the message) × 100. Example: If your message receives 5,000 people, and 150 of them open the link. the conversion rate is (150 ÷ 5000) × 100 = 3%.

3. CTR CTR

The CTR ratio, as ctr is called click-Through Rate, is the percentage of email receivers who have clicked once or more on the links included within the message. It can be calculated simply by a calculation similar to the one in which we calculated the conversion rate. which is as follows: (the number of people who clicked the links ÷ the number of receivers of the message). × 100.

CTR helps you determine how effective your marketing campaign is. and when you develop an email marketing strategy. there are many ways to increase your CTR. For example. you can include links in the right places within the message content. and try to make them attractive to readers' eyes. and place them in buttons that represent the call to Action call.

CTR is usually clearly lower than the message opening rate, with the ratio coming in at around 4% in most marketing campaigns.

4. Bounce rate

Bounce Rate measures the number of mailing list subscribers who haven't received your message for any reason. and the bounce rate is divided into two parts: temporary bounce rate. as well as permanent bounce rate.

For a temporary bounce, it results in temporary problems with a valid email address for receiving messages. such as full inbox or problems with service provider servers. in which case the server holds this message to deliver later when this temporary problem is resolved. or you can simply re-try to send that message again (with automation software).

Permanent recoil results from an incorrect, closed, or non-existent email address, and these messages will never be sent. and you must delete this email address from your mailing list immediately. as Email service providers use your bounce rate as an indicator of the sender's reputation.

The bottom line


Email marketing is a powerful engine for increasing sales, growing profits. revenues, and customer numbers for your online store, and has proven to be very effective among different marketing strategies as it has the greatest return on investment. outperforming all other marketing methods.

So if you follow the steps described above to start an email marketing campaign that will achieve the desired return significantly and get amazing results. and if you don't have the time and experience to do so. you can hire a professional digital marketer through a service website to do all this.

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